Politic…. or is it?!

David & Goliath

As I took Maggie out for a walk this morning, I bumped into one of the football mums who was also a buddy in the little political party I was involved in for the May local elections.  Since the disaster of the results and the ensuing lack of cooperation on the part of the opposing parties, I have taken myself away from them.  The experience was interesting and I don’t even begin to understand politics but I certainly do wish and hope for less ego and more humility for those who get involved, myself included.

So here’s the thing: catching up with said mum about the latest in the village, we chatted about the recent resignation of the president of the local football team.  Yes, I had seen the news in the local press just a couple of days ago – no reasons were given for his resignation.  However, it transpires that he’d had his fingers in the pot, hence was asked to stand down. Now that did grab my attention as the facilities at our local football ground have not been the best for sometime.  Of course, if there’s no money then it’s understandable that facilities are going to be lacking – anyone can understand that can’t they?

I queried whether the ex president was facing prosecution or at least a guarantee that he would never be able to run for any public office ever again.  Ha, how stupid am I?!  No, of course not, not even a slap on the wrist, just a quick and convenient resignation with a whole village colluding with him, myself included!

That brings me on to what’s happening in Greece and them standing up to the Troika with a resounding “no” this past Sunday.  Now I cannot even begin to fathom how we are going to come out of that mess or any mess in the world today come to think of it!  I would have voted “no” too.  But what is the answer?  All I know is that we cannot continue in a world that gives corporations so much power over us and I believe we are going to have to learn to stand up for ourselves by saying no.  However, it is always convenient isn’t it to have a big bad Goliath to blame for our woes.

So when are we going to stand up and say something about our parents’, our partners’ and our children’s behaviour?  You know, those people who make up our community, our society, our world – us!  We are colluding, together, all of us – Troika, left, right, centre, apathetic, racist, sexist, classist, age-ist – we are all in it together.  From our ways of consuming, never questioning where it’s coming from; to the ways of turning a blind eye on corruption or bad behaviour, every day we fail to stop and say, “hang on, that’s not right is it” or even demand a change.  No, it’s more a case of – it’s nothing to do with me, my son doesn’t play football or I shouldn’t say anything, I might get beaten up or worse.  Or even, Greece, let them sort it out themselves after all they’ve only got themselves to blame!

Guess what!  We are all in this together, we are all turning the blind eye on ourselves and our behaviour.  The beauty of life is that we are here to manifest the most brilliant part of ourselves – the part that stands up for what’s good and what’s right, the part that embraces peace, love and happiness as a universal right.  The part that acknowledges that each and every one of us here on earth has the basic human right to food, water and shelter, that it is not a luxury or something that we should work hard for!  What happens instead?  We fight against each other, we blame others for our misfortunes, we don’t stand up to the bullies, we allow feelings of negativity to over-ride every bit of common sense and we refuse to believe in the good of everyone.

No, I haven’t got the answers but I will be damned if I am going to give up.  I shall continue to do my little bit, even if I just influence my sons to be and do their very best, I will have done something to be proud of.  Now, if I can just get hold of that ex president and influence him…. that would be the icing on my cake of life!

One thought on “Politic…. or is it?!

Leave a Reply

