5 Rhythms revisited

 

Jessica Howie; 5 rhythms; Mallorca; Wild Honey Oxford; workshops

Jess

You may remember that I translated a 5 Rhythms workshop last autumn with the very fabulous Jessica Howie.  Well this past weekend, she was back in Mallorca and I once again was her translator of choice for the weekend 5 Rhythms workshop so beautifully organised by Tracy Courtney-Wills.

Twenty people, mainly women, gathered together to dance and move their way through the 5 rhythms and I was able to witness and partake at times in this most liberating of experiences.  My arrival on Saturday was a little bit hairy as I had had to bake two cakes first thing and I was a bit stressed getting to the venue.  No problem as it seemed that most of us there were bringing “stuff” to the session and Jessica quietly suggested that we just let it be and let it go.  I found the first hour or so challenging, in that the little voices in my head were telling me what a rubbish translator I was.  It’s not easy for me knowing that over half the room of English speakers have an excellent level of Spanish.  I felt invisible eyes on the back of me for a long while but then remembered comments from the last workshop from the Spanish participants who complimented me on my translating as they got exactly what they needed!  So from then on I enjoyed myself catering to their needs.

Jess and I have an amazing connection and this was proved at the last workshop and confirmed again this weekend.  She and I work well together and I really enjoy being by her side and being part of this incredible journey.  She manages to create a space for everyone to just be themselves and she allows absolutely everything to be what it is, just right.  As this is only my second 5 rhythms experience and along with the fact that I have not really participated due to having to translate, there was a moment when I truly got lost in movement.  Luckily Jessica noticed and catered for that by being aware that no words were needed just then.  As I came back to earth I noticed my hands as if for the very first time and wow, they were amazing!  Opening my eyes and looking through the window was like seeing the world for the first time.  The freedom to be myself in the 5 rhythms was truly liberating and I can’t wait to participate properly next time.

Jessica’s music is also excellent and the choices for us to move and dance to are truly an exciting mix.  The five rhythms are flow, staccato, chaos, lyrical and stillness so you can imagine what a mixture of music is presented.

Sadly on Monday I had the opposite of what I had experienced throughout the weekend and that was a massive downer!  I moped around most of the day, unable to get a handle on myself.  I had to force myself to go to improvisation in the evening and how glad I am that I went as that brought my spirit back to life!  A funny thing happened to me on Tuesday though and that was when I popped into the gas station.  Whilst waiting my turn in the queue, the radio was on and without prompting I began to move and sway to the music.  I realised that on Monday I hadn’t listened to any music and my body automatically went into rhythm whilst standing behind a gentleman who tried not to look at me as I began to move my arms and body in time to the beat.

5 rhythms is a must, for everybody and anybody!  I am going back for more so hurry back Jessica Howie, this woman needs you!

 

Visit Jessica’s web page                                                                        http://www.jessica5rhythms.com/

Leave a Reply

