Sisterhood

Girlfriends' get together; sisterhood; best friends; support; fun

Girlfriends’ get together

We somehow manage to be our own worst enemies, women that is.  I see it all the time, that sneaky, down the nose look at another woman, generally a woman who is attractive and most often from another good-looking woman!

Not all women appreciate the health benefits of getting on with each other – some of those benefits are laughter, support, advice, being there when things get tough, the list is a long one.  I see how men compete with one another on many levels but they don’t waste time bitching about the other, it’s not personal for them.  I remember when my friend, before she became my ex-friend along with my ex-partner, proudly boasted how much better she got on with men.  I should have seen the writing on the wall then but blindly I thought she was joking!  Nothing would stop her in her goal to have men all around her, including my ex.  Women like her are the obvious ones at a party and it is guaranteed that nothing will stop them going after the good-looking guys, perhaps moving on if he’s married, perhaps not!  They are the ones who don’t look another woman in the eye if she is introduced to them, especially if the other woman is attractive.

I have always been a bit of an idiot by giving everyone the benefit of the doubt, naively hoping that they will change and see how wonderful women really are.  Then I realise that as long as we women don’t appreciate each other first and foremost, then we shall always be competitive of other women and lose out on the huge and amazing benefits.  The life-long friendships, support, picking up when we haven’t seen each other for years at a time, the beauty of having girlfriends goes on and on.

I actually prefer the company of women, always have and imagine nothing will change that now at my young 53 years. I come from a family of matriarchs – impressive women, intelligent, good-looking, kind, funny, just downright gorgeous women. I went to a girls’ boarding school and had the best time ever.  I look back with very fond memories of my time there and thank facebook for getting us back together again over the past few years.

I am also lucky that my girlfriends are truly amazing women and I am blessed with a fair few of them, from all over the world and scattered all over the world.  They are all good for so many things and all different in their way but the common thread weaving them together is their maturity and ever growing wisdom – I love them!

I was back in England for Christmas and I got together with a few.  On the Sunday between Christmas and New Year I had lunch with Diana, it has been about 10 years since we last saw each other and it felt like yesterday.  Then the next couple of days I spent with Anna, Sabrina and Daniella and what a feast of joy that was (our Mandy unfortunately couldn’t join us).  I was so proud of what my girlfriends have been achieving with their lives since we last saw each other.  Brianne is always there for me but sadly this time, I was full of flu and so just saw her briefly.  I use skype as another way to stay in touch and Lana, BFF is often there for good advice and cheer.  Sylvia is always on the end of the phone and dependable Virtu and Cati around the corner.  Ones I don’t see for years on end – the list is really long, believe me – are caught up with sporadically and we always feel like it is yesterday since we last spoke!  This list includes cousins and I have the best cousins in the world!  Of course top of the list of women in my life who are there for me include my mother and my two sisters!

So sistas, take a look around you and appreciate all the amazing women in your lives including the ones who haven’t realised it yet.  To my ex friend I say thank you for going off with my ex partner.  At the time it wasn’t nice, but it taught me to appreciate the women in my life and they helped me get through that dark chapter.  I don’t know what she’s doing right now as they are no longer together but I hope she has found some girlfriends that she trusts and can rely on – life is too short to do it on our own.

BTW, I really respect my friends’ husbands – they truly are some best friends worth having and I say thank you to them for allowing me time with their wonderful wives and never complaining when Glynny comes to visit!

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sisterhood

Leave a Reply

