Celebrations

fathers and daughters; family; heros; children;

My dad and me!

My wonderful father Gerry German would have been 87 years young today!  It is going on three years since he left us to go dance with the angels and spread magic on my world.  He and my mother Patricia have been the greatest gifts on my life – I am proud that they allowed me to be their daughter or is it that I am proud that I had the sense to choose them as my parents!

This week has seen my birthday too and of course, like every year the first thing I would remember was how dad used to come into my bedroom first thing on my birthday and tell me “remember, it’s not another year older but another year wiser”.  I would reflect on my acquired wisdom before getting up to enjoy my special day and this year was no exception.

I am wiser than ever before but maybe that’s not saying too much as I still make the same mistakes sometimes!  However, I feel a sense of calm that wasn’t there in the past, a sense of acceptance, that all is well in my world, a serenity if you may.  I am proud of what I have achieved in the past year.  I have a weekly radio show “The Happiness Café” that put out 28 shows last year with inspiring guests and listeners tuning in from all over the world.  The feedback has been positive and people seem to enjoy the show.

I am especially proud that my relationship with my siblings gets better and better.  Last summer took in a trip to my younger sister’s home in Devon and that was a special highlight of my summer holidays.  Christmas and New Year was spent laughing and eating with most of my family except for big sister who was with her own family in Ras al-Khaimah.  It felt really good being with the family and knowing that skype provided a back up for those not physically present.  Second born was a fantastic travel companion every time and we even managed to get first born to come on one of the three trips back last year but always itching to get back to his life here in Mallorca.

My mother continues to be my rock, my source of wisdom and allowing me to make  sense of the world.  Each time spent in her company is gaining more understanding about myself.  I am so grateful for the gift of her in my life – so eternally grateful that she is there for me, with love and understanding.

So what did I do on my birthday this year?  I was 53 years young and I went dancing with my sons in the mountain village of Deìa.  Second-born disappeared as soon as we got there but first-born and I enjoyed some boogie moves in the village hall, surrounded by international, young people who apparently get together every Saturday between 12 and 2pm to dance!  The energy of these people was great and focussed and I really enjoyed my birthday, simple but great are the pleasures!

The challenges now to keep celebrating every day as it comes will keep me busy.  I have plans and big hairy audacious ones at that!  I shall enjoy more radio and look forward to developing more monologues which I hope to put on for you later this year, into a one woman show.  I have voice overs to do so listen out for me if you call the electricity company or if you take the boat over to Cabrera and want to know more of the history!  Perhaps you’re booking a holiday with a certain hotel chain, well you might get me telling you which button to press!

Life is good and I am 53 years young!  Wise, serene, happy and in love with life!

Enjoy your year!

 

The Happiness Café @Monday at 10am – http://www.mallorcasunshineradio.com

DJ Nin Petit organises “Wake up dances” in Deìa on Saturdays at Sa Tanca

Leave a Reply

