Gratitude

The attitude is gratitude!

The attitude is gratitude!

 

I have been adopting a new morning routine which incorporates being grateful.  This has been wonderful waking up every morning and spending 5 minutes taking time to centre myself and then write a list of what makes me grateful.  They range from my beautiful sons and what they may have said or done; the church bells; the birds outside my window – the list goes on.

Yesterday wasn’t the same though.  I was most ungrateful to have been woken by my neighbour and his hobby of knocking up bits of wood just before 7am and I was not impressed.  It’s interesting how one thing that’s out of sync can knock me back.  I groaned and tried to go back to sleep.  I have to say that my bedroom window is still open for another month and that my room gives over the back yard which is penned in by 4 other neighbours so one can hear everything.

Gratitude – how important is it and how easy is it?  It’s simple when I’m doing well and on top of the world but boy oh boy, it’s a hard slog when I am not feeling good about stuff.  So how important is it?  I realised yesterday that I really have to go beyond the sounds of my neighbour doing his woodwork at 7 in the morning and keep myself centred in me and not lose the gratitude thread.  If I depend on silence and sweet sounds of birds to feel grateful, then I am in trouble!

The day did get better.  I was grateful for the social security office to be efficient and give me the paper I needed.  I was grateful for Guillem in the bank to be enthusiastic about his job and love doing new things like my insurance claim.  I was grateful to dry my washing on the line.  I was grateful to be organised and leave supper ready for the boys as I went off to Palma.  And I was extremely grateful to have so much fun and laughter in my improvisation class in the evening.

I learned a valuable lesson in improv yesterday and that was to be present and trust in myself, my partner or situation of the moment.  I shall take that lesson with me today and the rest of the week and apply it to whatever situation I find myself in.  I am grateful above all for the lesson.

Enjoy your week and being grateful is the first step towards a better life!

And remember to smile, be grateful that you can!

 

Leave a Reply

