Living without Facebook

descarga

I suddenly had the thought a few days ago to go a week without facebook!  This idea occurred to me in the early, waking hours of Saturday, a day in which I was going to be out of the house for most of it.  I had a renewal of vows ceremony to perform and then I was off to translate a weekend workshop on 5Rhythms.  The thought came out of nowhere, or did it?  My first born is the first to criticise the amount of time I spend on facebook and it’s true, I do spend an awful lot of time sitting in front of the computer especially with my cyber family.  When the thought came to me, it seemed so right and here I am, nearly half way through my week of living without facebook.

Surprisingly, it’s been quite easy!  I set things up on Sunday evening because of course I had to up-date my status and let people know I wasn’t going to be there!  Need I have bothered?  Interestingly, it seems that nobody has missed me!  I informed people as to where they might find me ie telephone numbers and email address but so far, all is quiet.  What did that tell me?  I realised that I had allowed my real relationships to fall by the wayside.  Simply put, I have not been good at maintaining my friendships.  We are so busy, or are we?  I certainly have no excuses!  I am blessed to not be working this year so I don’t have the excuse of a 9 to 5 job!  How is it that I spend most of my time locked away in my home, sat in Binissalem, preferring to communicate with a laptop and connection via WIFI?!

Day one started off well.  I met a couple of the mums at school drop off and had tea.  As I only do the school drop off once a week, this was quite a treat!   The mums at the school are wise women.  Petra is a creative and giving woman whom I have known for years and it is so special to make time to catch up with her.  She is a grounding energy but light at the same time, always ready with a reminder to not sweat the small stuff!  Irene, a new contact for me, is an interesting woman from Argentina and we talked about playfulness, childhood and education – subjects quite dear to all of our hearts especially given that we have chosen to send our children to an “eco” school.  Then I went home and I did what I had promised myself to do and that was to write my blog finding time still to have my weekly catch up phone call with great friend Sylvia!

Mondays is also the day to look forward to improvisation classes and this week was class number two.  I was very nervous this time, more nervous than the first time but once there the nerves settled.  However, the insecurity didn’t!  What is it about playing that can be so difficult for so many of us?  Mind you, this is a journey for me so I am going to keep plugging away until I find what it is I am looking for which is freedom to express myself without fear.  On my way to improvisation (I take the train) I chatted with Alexandra, a Dutch teacher in the Spanish public system and how refreshing to hear her news.  She was at the Education for Life conference recently and inspired by the speakers, she has introduced meditation to her 9 – 11yr olds at school.  The shocking thing she shared with me is the fact that she doesn’t actually have the time to do this within the structure of the school day so hats off to her for making the time.

Tuesday’s deep and meaningful conversations with were Estrella, another mother from the school who introduced me to Ariella, an American woman living in Holland and visiting Mallorca with her daughter.  Estrella will be my new teacher.  Tomorrow I have a rebirthing session with her and I hope to remove some blockages and nonsense that I don’t need in my life anymore – more will be revealed later!  Ariella hopes to come and live in Mallorca and we spoke about midwifery and soul-midwifery amongst other things.  I hope she comes back.

My whatsapp group of the Goddesses always keeps me filled and I hope to catch up in person with them before too long.  An amazing bunch of women from all over the world and currently residing in Mallorca – all the beautiful brainwave of Cloe Collette, a talented artist.  She, Ruth, Emmeline, Anna, Aleid, Daniella, Rita and many more interesting women share events and ideas via this application and next week there is a creative get-together to which I am not sure if I can go yet but thinking about it now, I think I shall make the effort and join them!  It’s time to learn to sew as I keep seeing things that need mending.

Today Wednesday, I come from yoga with Eva and I am so thankful and grateful for these classes – twice weekly and thrice needed!  Eva is a dedicated, caring and inspiring teacher.  Her soft voice encourages me to keep trying and although a lot of the postures are still a goal to reach, I am getting there slowly.

I shall also record my weekly radio show for the Happiness Café and I am delighted that I shall be speaking to a man who is preparing for an interesting weekend conference on energy, economy and ecology!  More about him on the show so don’t forget to tune in next Monday at 10am!

Well, now I am not on facebook I have time for other things like cleaning my house so I shall crack on with that!  Have a great week and talk to someone today!

Improvisation with Gori (Spanish)               goriartieda@gmail.com

Eco school Sa Llavor                                         www.sallavor.es

Yoga with Eva (bilingual)                                emdemiguel@gmail.com

The Happiness Café                                          www.mallorcasunshineradio.com

Education for Life                                              www.pocapoc.org

Sacred Valley Dialogues conference on Energy, Economy and Ecology 24 – 26th October 2014 Soller contact Christer Soderberg (christer@sacredvallydialogues.org)

Leave a Reply

