International Day of Peace

With sweetness, peace!

With sweetness, peace!

Tomorrow is International Day of Peace and according to the United Nations General Assembly, this day is to  “…to devote a specific time to concentrate the efforts of the United Nations and its Member States, as well as the whole of mankind, to promoting the ideals of peace and to giving positive evidence of their commitment to peace in all viable ways.”

Tomorrow is also the day that I take guardianship of the new Binissalem Peace Centre.  I feel truly blessed to be part of this project and excited at this new venture in my life.

What is peace and what does it mean to me?  I believe peace is that place within; that place that is always still, always calm, like a beautiful calm sea with its quiet crashing of waves on the shore, not disturbing but soothing.  It is that feeling I have when all is well in my world.  When all around are happy and content, with the kind of energy that is about being more than it is about doing, a kind of artistic expression, creative in its essense.

Peace is important to me.  With it is the journey of love, tolerance, compassion and acceptance as well as forgiveness and understanding.  Peace is my responsibility and only when I own my feelings, reactions and attitudes to all that happens around me will I be able to enjoy peace.  Peace begins with me.  Peace is there, within me.

Tomorrow as I move up to the centre – it is an old building of 800m2 on 26000m2 of land – I shall take a moment to meditate and pray to God that we may all be blessed and discover peace.  I shall consider those in extreme conditions of war and poverty and pray for peace.   I can only start with me and tomorrow and every day that is the seed I shall water.

May peace be on everyone of us.  Happy day tomorrow!

http://www.internationaldayofpeace.org/

One thought on “International Day of Peace

  1. Pingback: Countdown To World Peace | Cocoa Antics

Leave a Reply

